Need your help - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2003, 01:30 PM
rikeegee

Need your help

Hello everyone. I think i blew out my rear end yesterday. My rear pumpkin leaked fluids in the freeway without me noticing and eventually damaged something. While pulling aside it I hear loud crunching noises every roll. When i put it in drive, it wont move so I know its shot. I can still roll the truck in neutral so I know its not totally locked up.

Here is my question. I need to tow this to the shop which will cost me a bit since its far. How do i disconnect the rear so I can drive it with the front wheels? I am not an expert mechanic so let me know as well if its a bit over my head and I should just pay for the tow.

Appreciate any input you can give.

Thanks,
Ricky
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2003, 01:38 PM

Re: Need your help

There should be just 4 bolts on the back of the drive shaft (I believe these to be 12-put bolt heads) and maybe some on the front (near the t-case). Should be pretty simple to figure out once you get down there to look. Just make sure you lock in the t-case and hubs, that is if the rear tires will turn.

By doing this, depending on what the problem is, you might further break something, so take caution.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2003, 02:31 PM

<font color="blue">Mateorr</font color> is right. You can pull the rear DS by removing 8 bolts, but that doesn't mean you won't damage your axles/rear-end/housing more by rolling it without the DS, or worse, having it lock-up on you while driving.

Best to have it flat-bedded or trailered to the shop.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2003, 02:35 PM
rikeegee

Thanks for all the advice. I will just have it towed tomorrow morning. Better be safe then more broke!! hehe