Inspection woes. - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-13-2003, 07:33 PM Thread Starter

Inspection woes.

I got my truck back yesterday to find out I have a broken leaf and broken tapered block. I decided to replace the whole spring pack and try to see if I could get 5 leaves instead of 4 for a 1" lift to level the truck out. Napa hooked me up with a shop that does this it cost me $107 a side. I didn't think that was bad. I was going to just get 6" lift from rancho but couldn't talk the wife into the $1400 to get it. She said the only thig that gets 6" is here! [img]images/graemlins/chairfall.gif[/img] She left me speachless. Anyhow, My questions are this, Is there any pointers that You all may have when i do this ? I've never done this before and it looks pretty easy, but usually nothing I do is easy. I have new U-bolts, Bushings, springs of course. Should I get New shackels or Is that a bit overboard. i want to do this right the first time. One thing that amazes me is that it passed emission test with no cats and glass pack! The guy who does it couldn't beleive it! I think this proves that the cats are bull- this is 3 years in a row it has passed. Thanks for the input -Bob

Holy sh!t the pic worked! [img]images/graemlins/thud.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-13-2003, 08:27 PM

Re: Inspection woes.

does your truck have rust?
if so removing the old leafs could be a real bitch. expect to cut the head and nut end off the bolt and drop the spring pack straight down....
in the rust belts, the bolts rust to the steel bushing sleeves and cant be pounded loose no matter how hard you try if its bad.
do you new leafs have the metal sleeve that fits inside the bushing that the bolt goes into? if not, get those. also new bolts for the leafs.