Need help-Ticking noise=power loss - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-03-2003, 01:41 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Need help-Ticking noise=power loss

Hi all. I'm brand spanking new here so please be patient with me. Here's the deal. I have a stock 302 5spd 1990 Ford Bronco XLT. Recently, I had the rear main seal and oil pan seal replaced. Since then I have had a bad ticking noise (sounds as if it is coming from behind and/or under the dash) on acceleration with a loss of power. I replaced all wires, cap and rotor and plugs hoping this would fix it. The wires were slightly chewed by a mouse or something, the cap and rotor were all burned up (don't know why) and the plugs just needed to be replaced. This helped the problem but it came back shortly after. Now it's really bad and getting worse. I'm not very good with electrical problems (if that is what it is). I discovered that a gas line had come disconnected after the rear main seal work and had to replace the clip to the fuel line, but that wasn't it either. I did do a search before posting but didn't find any resolves. Please help if you can and send me an email.
Thank you, great board!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 08-03-2003, 01:52 PM
Larnach

Re: Need help-Ticking noise=power loss

Maybe you have an exhaust leak, happened with my truck a while back, welded in a new pipe section to the manifold and viola! Sounded so smooth and had a ton of power back despite only 7 working fuel injectors! [img]images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
post #3 of (permalink) Old 08-03-2003, 02:20 PM
**DONOTDELETE**