Anybody ever rebuilt a C6? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-29-2003, 02:17 PM Thread Starter

Anybody ever rebuilt a C6?

Mine needs to be done and I don't think I can put it off much longer!

I've been very easy on her for a while now, but it's getting to be about that time. I got a little over zealous today on the way home, forgetting about my delicate tranny situation.

Anyway, I've never done any tranny work before..........BUT that's never stopped me before.

I know that the local shop here that I've done business with in the past uses rather cheap parts and I'm sure that rebuilding trannies all day gets a little tiresome. They sometimes don't get everything just right. I've had 3 trannies rebuilt there over the years, with mixed results.

I'm thinking that this may be a good opportunity to learn a little about trannies and make a bullet proof tranny cheaper than I could have one built.

Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-29-2003, 03:29 PM Thread Starter

Re: Anybody ever rebuilt a C6?

Sorry, but before I get ahead of myself:

I need to try and tightening the bands, or so I've been told. Now then, that is really nice.

I don't know how to tighten the bands, or sure even exactly what they are. I know kinda what they are, but not exactly.

Tutorial anyone?
post #3 of (permalink) Old 04-29-2003, 03:53 PM
Pooh-Bah

This thread has a picture of the intermediate/drive band adjustment stud and nut.
You'll have to get your trusty manual out for the proper adjusting specs:
Loosen the outer-large nut, tighten the inner (square) stud to a certain torque, then back it out a specified amount.
Takes about 2 minutes at the max. [img]images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

The low/reverse band adjustment is internal.