lockers - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-07-2003, 01:06 PM
jaysbronco

lockers

what locker do u put in first front or back im new to 4wheelin want to buy lockers for my 1990xltbronco
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-07-2003, 01:13 PM

Re: lockers

Either, you could even do both at once. But, if you are new to wheelin, then you probably should learn more about the different types, and which would be best for what you are looking to do. Since lockers go in the pumpkins, often this upgrade should go hand in hand with gearing if you are or have added bigger tires.

I put an ARB in front first...I already had a LSD in the rear. Are both your axles open currently?
post #3 of (permalink) Old 01-07-2003, 01:20 PM
jaysbronco

ihave just bought 4new tsl sxtires on rims35/15.50/15 and a rancho4in lift kit just want to be able to do mud holes and trails ilive in washington what lockers do u think wood be for me trucks got a 351 in it
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 01-07-2003, 01:39 PM

Jason, many of the members of 2bigbroncos live up your way. Fun club to be part of if you like wheelin with many of big broncos and other assorted vehicles.

Let me put it this way, there are numerous things to consider:

1 do you have any traction devices in the diffs now?
2 are you on a budget?

if yes to 2 then do the diff that does not already have a traction device. The lock-rights have held up decently in some of the trucks with the Ford 9inch. they are cheaper than a detroit because they are not the entire carrier.
Some also run some type of spool, but this really is only for a rig that is used as your trail vehicle.

if no on 2