Is there a trick to running wires under the carpet - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-04-2002, 06:41 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Is there a trick to running wires under the carpet

I am installing a new stereo in my center console and I want to run the wires under the carpet. What is the best way to do this without ruining the carpet? Should I run a coat hanger under it then drag the wires through? Or should I rip up the whole carpet from the door to the console? Will I beable to lay the carpet back down if I pull it all up? Will I have to unbolt one of the front seats?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-04-2002, 07:06 PM

Re: Is there a trick to running wires under the carpet

I am now a pro on removing the interior [img]images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img], and its really not that hard to do.
First thing you should know (if you didnt notice already) is that the carpet is sectioned. the cargo area is one piece, and the front cab area is another. So, to remove that piece of carpeting, youd have to remove the plastic trim where you enter, both front seats (4 bolts each), and remove the transfer case boot. The only wires i found under my carpet ran from 1 seat belt to the other, stopping only to go to my seatbelt clip (for that warngin signal). its pretty flat, so youd probably be able to run a coat hanger under there, but put something over the edge of it so it wont snag on the carpet. Ive had my front carpet section up a couple times, and itll go right back in place with almost no effort whatsoever. Also, keep in mind that that hump between the driver/passenger area (where your feet are) is the access panel to get to the tranny, so you dont want to run them over that, or theyll be in the way should you ever need to work on it.