engine trouble - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 03-22-2000, 08:50 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

engine trouble

i have a 1990 ford bronco 5.8l, 3.55 and e4od. My problem is when the engine warms up, the car feels extremely sluggish. I press the gas and the engine revs up, but the car doesn't go like it should. Is this a transmission problem or some sensor in the engine because it doesn't do it when the engine is cold. I want to fix this since my mom wants me to sell the car. It's a great truck and i want to keep it. HELP!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 03-24-2000, 10:09 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: engine trouble

I'm not really a trans expert, but if the engine revs and the truck does not go, it has to be the trans. Start with a simple fluid and filter change. Most mechanical problems with a trans are not temp specific. Next go to a parts store and look in the manual for troubleshooting. Sorry but that is all I have for you.

[img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/cool.gif[/img] MG48 - 88 Bronco
post #3 of (permalink) Old 03-24-2000, 06:17 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

BlueBronco - You really need to figure out and be sure whether the tranny is slipping, or not. Since everything is OK when cold, you can do a simple comparison. When cold, from a standing stop (to be sure that trans starts out in first), tromp on it, and listen to the engine (watching tach is best if you have one), and see how far (distance) you go to get to 20 MPH or so, and how much the engine rev'ed to do this. I'm suggesting only 20 MPH because you want to stay in first gear to keep it simple, and use a good marker where you hit your speed.