Bronco 460 Swap - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-27-1999, 08:55 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Bronco 460 Swap

I have a 1979 Bronco-with the 400M engine and auto C6 transmission.Believe I could go another 2 years with this engine but instead of rebuilding it I would like to put in a completely rebuilt 460.Reason being,during the summer I pull a 24' trailer through mountain passes and would like to get Maximum torque and power for the Bronco.Has anyone done this and how difficult would this be to do.The engine I found, but have not bought yet, is in a 1978 van.Would the engine mounting bolts be in the same position as they would be from a truck?Thanks in advance for any help and info.

smile
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-28-1999, 02:01 AM
mudmonger

Re: Bronco 460 Swap

>>>Hiya. I am no expert on the mid generation Broncos, but, I will tell you what I do know for sure. The 460 and modified engine family share the same bell housing pattern, so, the tranny will work. The motor mounts are different though. The 460 was only available in the heavier trucks(250 and 350) and the Bronco is basically a short F-150 after 77'. This means the frame is different and you will need custom motor mounts. I believe a company called L&L makes all sorts of custom pieces for this conversion and should have all the info. Look in the back of a 4x4 mag for the phone # or web site. You'll probably need custom headers so the exhaust can clear the frame rails and you will want a bigger radiator too. Hope this helps a little. Good luck to you.

NUFF SAID
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-14-1999, 10:49 PM
**DONOTDELETE**