Uncle Don - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford 67-96 F-Series, 78-96 Bronco All discussions of 67-96 F-Series Trucks and 78-96 Broncos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-17-1999, 06:50 PM
duff

Uncle Don

Bog'n sent me this on his vacumm hook up to the distributer.

< mine is an 83 also but From the factory it have the red and yellow vacumm line the t into one just before the distributor.the red
< line has some kinda dohicky on it(looks like a very small filter whicn goes to manifold vacumm-t and the yellow goes directly to
< the carb timed port. this is before I went to a 4bbl and offy intake... I'm also running Autolite 45 plugs and they work good for
< me, but I think I like AC/delco plugs best.

Also, when I was a mechanic for a living, longer that I want to say, a fellow mechanic told me that vacumm advance is only
used when crusing. The mechanical advance is used during exceleration. So what I did was reconnect the vacumm to the
manifold and it stopped pinging and runs well. I just wonder what Bog'ns rig does. My guess the gadget he speaks of is a
check valve. What do you think?

Also I was asked when ordering my 85 I6 if I wanted EFI, and my neighbor ordered an 84 302 with it. he now has 250K on it.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-18-1999, 02:30 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Uncle Don

Yeah, if it doesn't ping on light acceleration, then full manifold on the vac advance should work, as the manifold vac will go down at high RPM and heavy load (wide throttle opening). I think they usually set them up to have mostly vac advance at idle/light load, then as RPM would increase the mechanical advance would start to come into play, and at high RPM would be mostly mechanical as the vac advance would drop off.