318 to 360 swap - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Dodge 4x4 vehicles All discussion of Dodge trucks, Ramchargers, Plymouth and SUV's...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-02-1999, 10:06 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

318 to 360 swap

I am new to the Ram charger/Trailduster community and am wanting to know if a 318 to 360 is a direct bolt up. The other message that I want to send is that any body in Iowa or the surrounding area should know that Hurst Auto Salvage in Spencer, Iowa has about 6 Ramchargers sitting in the yard ready to be picked clean. There is some good sheetmetal, a lot of good doors, rear seats, trim. I recently bought a 74 trailduster that was in great shape excepting for the usual rocker and rear fender cancer for $400. The drivetrain and engine were complete. The 360 turned right over with an oil change and some gas.

Own a '74 trailduster and am new to the whole Dodge/Plymouth vehicle scene
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-02-1999, 12:54 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: 318 to 360 swap

Yep its a direct swap. Just pull one out and plop the other in. Basicly they are the same block one just has a bigger bore and stroke. Have fun!! ;-)

Mike

post #3 of (permalink) Old 11-02-1999, 12:59 PM
aarcuda

I thought the only difference was the passenger side motor mount....

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 11-02-1999, 01:17 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Pretty much the same except one motor mount boss is about 1/2" different (I think the passenger side) and uses a different motor mount bracket.
The 360 oil pan is different, so if the 360 has a passenger car center sump, you will need a 360 truck oil pan which are avaliable new from mopar performance (with oil pump pickup, dipstick and tube), or if you only need a 360 truck pan and not the pickup let me know as I have two sitting around here.