Thinking about a body lift, could use help... - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Dodge 4x4 vehicles All discussion of Dodge trucks, Ramchargers, Plymouth and SUV's...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-04-2002, 07:55 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Thinking about a body lift, could use help...

Well, for starters i'm a newbie to this site, but am glad to finally find a Dodge only one [img]images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Now for the questions.

I currently own a 1995 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4. I've had it for about 7 1/2 years now, and still love it. It's been through Silver Lake Sand Dunes in Michigan and a little mudding in Texas now.

Throughout the years i've slowing been bumping up my tires. Went from 225/75/16 --> 245/75/16 --> 245/75/16 again --> 265/75/16 --> and am currently on 285/75/16's and like them.

Only problem is, I get a slight rub when I crank my wheel hard to get into parking spots. Not a huge deal, but would like to solve it. This has led me to consider a 3" Body Lift and Lift Lips(if i need them). That should solve the rubbing. Now has anyone else just done a 3" Body Lift on their stock 4x4. If so, does anyone know the largest tire you can put on, with just slight or no rubbing when you crank your wheel(i can live with a tiny bit, like now).

The 285/75/16's probably compare to 32 x 11.5 tires. So with a 3" Body Lift can I put on 33 x 12.5 tires? I will also probably have to go to 15 x 10 rims for this, since the stock ones are 16 x 7 and can't handle that probably. I could also consider 295/75/16's, but not sure if I could do 305's or 315's.

Now let's say I decided to go with new 15 x 10 rims. Can I even use them with only a 3" Body Lift??

The reason I'm only asking about a Body Lift is they are very very inexpensive compared to the suspension lift, and that's all that I can do right now.

Also, any opinions on the looks, are lift lips necessary even on the dodge with a 3" lift.