360 vs 440 - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Dodge 4x4 vehicles All discussion of Dodge trucks, Ramchargers, Plymouth and SUV's...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 03-05-2002, 10:57 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

360 vs 440

I have access to a 440 and my 360 is in need of a rebuild the 440 will come with a transmission that is set up for 2 wheel
Question is should I go with the big block or should I rebuild my 360 and will the 2 wheel transmission bolt up to my transfer case after removing the tailshaft housing or will I need an output shaft. Both transmissions are 727's and my transfercase is a np208
thanks

http://www.bastroptx4x4.alloffroad.com
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 03-06-2002, 10:31 AM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: 360 vs 440

You have to ask? There is no replacement for displacement, and the wieght difference is slight between the 2. I'm no expert but my understanding is that yes the tranny should bolt up beings as both are 727's, I could be wrong. Somebody? BTW, what are you puting it in, a truck or one of your jeeps?

YOU NEVER KNOW TILL YOU TRY
post #3 of (permalink) Old 03-06-2002, 11:26 AM
Can't Get Enough

hey what are you doing posting over here? get back to the Jeep board right now mister [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

http://bastroptx4x4.alloffroad.com
or for pictures
http://photos.yahoo.com/cj8r
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 03-06-2002, 12:34 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

440, no question. If this 440 is out of a truck, it ought to be espcially easy. As for the tranny, you will need to swap the output shaft and tail housing from the small block 727 to the bigblock housing.

Mopars and 4x4s

post #5 of (permalink) Old 03-06-2002, 09:08 PM
Keyboard Implanted