Just Bought a Dodge. - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Dodge 4x4 vehicles All discussion of Dodge trucks, Ramchargers, Plymouth and SUV's...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-12-2002, 05:07 PM Thread Starter

Just Bought a Dodge.

Howdy all. I've been over on the Chevy boards(owned '97 ZR2 and a '99 Z71), but I bought a Dodge Ram Quad Cab Saturday. It has the 5.2L V8 and Automatic Transmission with 24,000 miles. I am by no means an expert on Dodges so I have a question. Say you had $500.00 to play with for this truck what would you do(upgrade, accessories, etc.) and why. Any and all information would be appreciated. P.S. you will be seeing me around here quite a bit.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-13-2002, 12:15 AM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: Just Bought a Dodge.

I guess we would have to know what you plan on doing with the truck before we could suggest mods. I guess my first buys would be some recovery gear. A winch is out of the $500 budget, but you could pick up a Hi-Lift Jack, good tow rope, a heavy duty come-a-long (not the cheapy sheet metal ones you get at the hardware store) and a folding Army shovel. This stuff should get you out of a stuck, with or without another truck around (although you should never go wheelin' alone). Also, invest in a good first aid kit that has more than just some neosporin and a half dozen band aids. If youv'e got some left over after that, a quality set of off road lights would come in handy as well! Good luck.

Mike H.
1983 CJ-7 Laredo
post #3 of (permalink) Old 02-13-2002, 07:19 PM Thread Starter

I guess I wasn't real clear with my question. I am asking for Dodge specific upgrades since you all know what works and what doesn't. As far as basic 4x4ing accessories I have. I guess I am looking more for(dual exhaust, k&n, headers, chip,etc.) What will give me the most bang for my buck. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement