What should I get for teenagers? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Dirtbike Lounge Hang out and talk two wheels. For Tech and Racing specifically, see those forums below.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-30-2009, 12:17 PM Thread Starter

Question What should I get for teenagers?

I live out in a farm area and have three sons, ages 12, 13, and 15 (they weigh between 110 and 150 pounds). We have a couple hundred acres of land around us that we can explore thanks to a kind farmer who lives next door. I was thinking about getting them some combination of dirt bikes and quads for Christmas. I have very little experience riding myself so I'm looking to learn from others.

My plan is to get two vehicles so I can ride with them and supervise what's going on. I don't want them breaking their necks- just go out and have some fun. So here are my questions:

1. Should I get ATV's or dirt bikes for them? Is one easier to learn to drive than the other?
2. If I get them dirtbikes, what size should I get and can they safely have two riders?
3. New or used? If I go used, what should I look for? I don't want to spend more than $5k for two vehicles.
4. Would it be better to get one ATV and one dirt bike since the ATV's appear to be easier for beginners?
5. In the winter, I understand pulling a sled in the snow behind an ATV is a blast. Can you do the same with a dirt bike?

Thanks for the feedback,
A Dad in virginia
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-02-2009, 03:39 PM
Novice

What to get Teenagers

If you kids can ride bicycles they can ride dirt bikes, ATV's are just plan easy to ride. Really comes down to preference and personality. I've had both and prefer my ATV's over the Dirt bikes but always had fun hill climbing and jumping stuff on the dirt bike.

ATV's are tricky - there are government regs on how old kids have to be to ride.

ATV's 250cc and up you have to be 16yrs old to operate them.