starting problems - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Dirtbike Lounge Hang out and talk two wheels. For Tech and Racing specifically, see those forums below.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-13-2008, 02:50 PM
mmarciello

starting problems

I am new to riding and I recently bought 94 cr 250. since the guy started it on the night I bought it I have only been able to ride it twice both times I had to kick it unitl I broke a sweat without it starting. I was then able to start the bike by jump starting it into first gear. Since then I have changed the spark plug and had the carbuerator cleaned by professional mechanic and still I can not get this thing to start. When It does it run, it is like a bear though. could this be a carbuerator jet problem because it is not a stock pipe, or a float problem. What excatly are floats!. And does this seem like a home fix.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-14-2008, 12:24 PM
stevet

RE: starting problems

A few things you could try:

When the engine is cold (hasn't been started within a couple of hours), pull up the choke and don't give it any throttle, then try kicking it. This is straight from my manual, and my bike (01 CR 125) ususally starts 1st kick when I do this.

Drain the gas in the carb before you start it. Lie the bike on its right side until all or most of the fuel spills out of the carb hoses. Make sure the fuel is turned off.

Make sure the air filter is clean.

Make sure the plug is the proper plug for your bike, is in good shape, and is properly gapped. Even a new plug can get fouled badly, but you can use gas or varsol to clean it up.