New to dirtbikes... - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Dirtbike Lounge Hang out and talk two wheels. For Tech and Racing specifically, see those forums below.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-21-2002, 07:22 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

New to dirtbikes...

Hey all... I've been riding quads for about 10 years now but I'm thinking about pickin up a dirtbike as well... just for basic riding, no competing or races quite yet... just local trails, etc in the area... I'm female, about 120lbs, 5'7"... I know w/ bikes you need to take in account your size, etc when lookin for the right one... Can anyone reccomend a good bike to start w/? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-22-2002, 01:00 AM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: New to dirtbikes...

Anything from a XR200 to KX100 or even a KDX200 wouldbe a good start.

Starting on KX100 would be nice because your feet can touch the ground very easy, while the KDX200 will be a taller but probley easier to ride...

OR you could get a Yam TTR225 with electric start?

Its best to start on a beginer bike and work your way up.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 05-22-2002, 04:42 AM
mikrosilakhan

YEa pretty much any bike is going to have a ton of power for your weight. Id personaly go with one of the four strokes if your gonna play. There just smoother and a little more pleasent all around to ride. Then if you decide its not enough go with the kdx or something likethat.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 05-22-2002, 09:41 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

See Kyron, when someone on a quad gives up and decides to ride dirtbikes, it gives you that feeling of hope for this world. Kinda like finding the cure for cancer or something.

Yes, a four stroke will be smoother for you to learn on but they're heavier than a two stroke. What about a 125 MX'er with a cut down seat foam?
post #5 of (permalink) Old 05-22-2002, 09:51 AM