Relatively easy question for most anyone - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Desert Racing For the discussion of all things, Desert Racing in Baja, the American Southwest, Australia and Africa.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-08-2002, 06:59 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Relatively easy question for most anyone

I doubt I need to tell you that I'm new to racing the desert; I feel like it's going to be fairly evident. I use to a wet climate with sand being found in few places.

Now, how are front-engined 2wds able to be raced with as much success as they are? Yes, doing away with much of the weight will greatly help, but the bulk of the vehicle weight will still be above the front two wheels, right? It would appear that having very little weight over the rear wheels, which are the only two pushing, would lose traction to the point of near uselessness.

Or are they so light altogether that the need of 4wd is eliminated?

Could someone help me with this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-09-2002, 11:04 AM
BlueCoyote

Re: Relatively easy question for most anyone

Speed and momentum - aka driving ability.
If they were always going slow, yes they might (and often do) get dug in. But knowing how to drive, using momenutm and going fast over terrain keeps the cars/trucks on top. As an example, slowly drive a regular 2wd truck over sand - you get stuck. Go fast, no problems.
Many of the trucks are not 'light'. Having driven a 4x4 Toyota over many of the same places as the race vehicles, and watched and learned this does work. One notorious section I could not do in 2wd, put it in 4wd and was able to get through. But all the 2wd race vehciles that went fast got right through. (Those that did not we pulled out). Later I ran the same section in 2wd but with speed / momentum - got right through.
Also - fill out your profile
post #3 of (permalink) Old 08-29-2002, 03:01 PM
**DONOTDELETE**