Sportsman 400 - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
ATV Lounge Everything ATV - NOT defined in a specific forum below. Hang out with your friends.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-11-2001, 04:27 PM
snownut

Sportsman 400

Anyone have any experience with a 96 Sportsman 400? I am looking at buying one, and am wondering if there was any issues with them.

Snownut

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-11-2001, 10:21 PM
raptor_rider

Re: Sportsman 400

from what I hear the only problems polairis had were worked out in the late 80's early 90's

Ride hard, Lifes short
post #3 of (permalink) Old 06-12-2001, 10:02 PM
Keyboard Implanted

The only thing i can think of with the 96's were they were hard to sell new. Polaris came out with the 500 and the 400 sales fell hard. If you have any questions feel free to ask. I dont always check over here. I am always on the swb side though. By the way i was a tech at a dealership during that time. Thats why i know how hard they were to sell.

Can someone please bring me a hammer my 33's just ate my fender again. Damn i need more lift.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 06-13-2001, 08:49 AM
snownut

Do think that the 2-stroke is what hindered sales, or just that people saw more cc's? I would think that horsepower wise the 400 should have more, just not as much torque.

Snownut

post #5 of (permalink) Old 06-13-2001, 09:07 AM
Keyboard Implanted

What hurt the 400 was that most of the sales were to "HUNTERS" and the 500 was quietier, had the gen4 body on it, the rear suspension, and just a new big bad quad. The 400 motor is a very tuff motor. I have built a few scarmbler 400's and cant believe at how well they hold up. 400's have hurt themselves but most of the time i would find out that the owners buddy said hey we can rejet this thing and it will go faster. You get the idea.