Looking for advice for teenager purchase - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
ATV Lounge Everything ATV - NOT defined in a specific forum below. Hang out with your friends.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-30-2009, 12:19 PM Thread Starter

Looking for advice for teenager purchase

I live out in a farm area and have three sons, ages 12, 13, and 15 (they weigh between 110 and 150 pounds). We have a couple hundred acres of land around us that we can explore thanks to a kind farmer who lives next door. I was thinking about getting them some combination of dirt bikes and quads for Christmas. I have very little experience riding myself so I'm looking to learn from others.

My plan is to get two vehicles so I can ride with them and supervise what's going on. I don't want them breaking their necks- just go out and have some fun. So here are my questions:

1. Should I get ATV's or dirt bikes for them? Is one easier to learn to drive than the other?
2. If I get them ATV's, what size should I get and can they safely have two riders?
3. New or used? If I go used, what should I look for? I don't want to spend more than $5k for two vehicles.
4. Would it be better to get one ATV and one dirt bike since the ATV's appear to be easier for beginners?
5. In the winter, I understand pulling a sled in the snow behind an ATV is a blast. Do I need a certain size ATV to do this?

Thanks for the feedback,
A Dad in virginia
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-03-2009, 03:13 AM

This has to be one of the worst forums I have ever been apart of as far as feedback goes. Most posts on here have over 100 views and no feedback. But I will give you the best answers I can. Good luck!!!

1. Should I get ATV's or dirt bikes for them? Is one easier to learn to drive than the other?
4 wheels is more easy than 2. But you can always mix it up a bit. 1 dirt bike and two quats or whatever.