2 WD or 4x4 - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
ATV Lounge Everything ATV - NOT defined in a specific forum below. Hang out with your friends.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-06-2005, 10:38 AM
jefflesh

2 WD or 4x4

OK, here is a simple question that I expect will have a complicated answer. What is the primary reason(s) to go with a 4x4 over a standard 2WD ATV?

I am looking into getting an ATV for myself really soon. I plan on using it mostly in Ohio and Michigan. That being said, I will also use it while on a trip to the Ozark Mountains in Arkansas. I was looking to get the Raptor 700r, but I was also looking at the Sportsman 800 EFI. What are the limitations of each machine? Which one is just more fun to ride?

I grew up on motorcycles so I know how to shift and brake, while I am fairly new to the world of ATVs I am not new to the world of off-road vehicles.

Any help would be great!

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

Jeff
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-06-2005, 04:53 PM
Apprentice

Re: 2 WD or 4x4

Well, it depends on what you want it to do. If you want to go fast all the time, get the Raptor. That sounds like a duh-huh, right? But, here's the other side of it. 4x4 is a MUST if you're ever going to be in the snow or deep mud. Also, you're going to be limited by the Raptor if you want to haul camping gear, cooler, and 200 lbs of firewood. You're not going to be able to throw the 4x4 around turns and jumps and such. So, the moral is, it just depends on your own preference and what you want to do with it. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-12-2005, 02:02 AM

[ QUOTE ]
But, here's the other side of it. 4x4 is a MUST if you're ever going to be in the snow or deep mud.

[/ QUOTE ]

I disagree. With good tires and enough throttle there are not many places a good 2 wheel drive atv wont go. And if nothing else spend a few hundred and get a winch.