first quad - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
ATV Lounge Everything ATV - NOT defined in a specific forum below. Hang out with your friends.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-30-2003, 08:32 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

first quad

Hello, I am new to the atv world and was considing purchasing a 2003 Yamaha Blaster as a fist atv.(you can't beat the price). Would this be a good starter? I know it will require more up keep since it is an 2 stroke, but that just gives me another engine to work on [img]images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] Any others to look at? thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-30-2003, 09:30 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: first quad

A blaster is a very small quad.I'f you are 6ft. or over, you probably wont want it.Your best bet would probably be a 4-stroke.I started on a 300ex.It was perfect for me at the time.Not too much power,but plenty to have fun with.They are also reasonably inexpensive to modify as your riding ability changes.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 01-30-2003, 03:14 PM
tony1034

Check out the Kasea Skyhawk 250. It is only $2,800 brand new. It makes more horsepower than a 250 or 300ex. The suspension could be better, but you're looking for a beginner quad not a racer. Others on this forum have quoted a top-speed of 65-70mph (don't know how fast it gets there, but the one guy raced a 300ex and Blaster, both stock, and dusted them) You can't beat the price. Just a suggestion. [img]images/graemlins/burnout.gif[/img]

Tony P.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 01-30-2003, 03:22 PM

tony doont think that is possible [img]images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img], check "which quad is best for me" and what i said and see if ya agree....other wise, like usually, what is your:hieght, weight expirence, do you work on engines alot?? i would suddgest the blaster or a used 300ex...cant go wrong there, 300ex is very realiable and modable
post #5 of (permalink) Old 01-31-2003, 10:11 PM