Off Roading Forums banner

20 HR service check up for new Honda ATV RECON?

3K views 7 replies 1 participant last post by  **DONOTDELETE** 
G
#1 ·
I have purchased a new honda atv recon es. As I was getting ready to take it out the door the sales persons mentioned a 20 hr tune up needed for the atv at a cost of $180 with replacment parts extra. Now I know I have 6 month warranty, that is standard for Honda ATV. Can anyone shed some light as to what this 20 hr service thing really is. I'm new to ATV's so this was my first purchase and love the ATV. Any information is greatly appreciated..

G
#2 ·
Prolly nothing more then a oil change and filter change with maybe some carb tunning but even that is doubtfull. Just got my z's and after 10 hours they need there oil and oil filter changed but thats it. You also need to check all your nuts on the machine, but thats just standard practice to most riders imo. I allways inspect my machine's. Dont want no tire comming of at 60mph+
. lol

#3 ·
do it man, it is expensive, but do it, after breaking in your machine (riding it lightly in low rpms) and babying it after 20 hours bring it back and they do a full check up, really to adjsut the vavles, i would definetly do it becasue it could save your quad, they adjust lots of things and do a full check up, then about every 4 gas tank fulls do your own maitnence

G
#4 ·
Hey I just purchased a 03' Z400 and they want 300 bucks for a ten hour service. they said they check the top end of the bike and adjust the valves i can change the oil and all but does 300 bucks sound lie a lot? and after that for every 4 or 5 tanks of gas I do my own check ups what does that include besides changin oil and lube and tighting things down thanks for the help guys.

G
#5 ·