Off Roading Forums banner

CJ7 Fibertub install need your EXPERTISE!!!

11K views 21 replies 10 participants last post by  **DONOTDELETE** 
#1 ·
Okay guys I have done the seach with little luck. I will start installing the Fiber tub next Wknd. I would like as much info as possible PLEASE. I have a 4WD tub w/o Tailgate. and the video. Mucho info on the video but it is about twenty years old, but I am in need of the Little things that pop up info.
Like the Brake pedal rod I have read about, and grounding,and the seatbelts, I have purchased the Fiberglass grounding kit. I am mecahnically and electrically inclined but I have never done something like this before. Please any info would be great
Thank You...

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Re: CJ7 Fibertub install need your EXPETISE!!!

Mostly take your time and measure everything at least 3 or 4 times before you start drilling or cutting. Also, try to have a shop vac around to suck up all the F/G dust you make ASAP. That stuff itches like crazy!
You might want to consider swapping to a hydraulic clutch setup instead of the mechanical one at this time. It works better and is easier to mount with the FG tub.
I would also suggest you go to the Jeep dealer and buy the YJ style windshield washer nozzles and use them instead of the CJ style one. The nozzles aren't too expensive from Jeep, and they work a heck of a lot better than the CJ's EVER did.

#3 ·
Re: CJ7 Fibertub install need your EXPETISE!!!

Your the guy I have been wanting to hear from you are one of the people that convinced me to go Fiberglass.
How did you hook up your seatbelts and what about moving 2 frame mounts?. A friend at work is a professional welder and he has done some work on jeeps before but not a fiberglass install. please any info you can give me would be very helpful.

#4 ·