225 V6 Performance Rebuild - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Go Back   Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups > Jeep > Jeepster-American Jeepster Club

Jeepster-American Jeepster Club Please also visit our club web site for more information at http://www.americanjeepsterclub.org/

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-1999, 08:53 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Default 225 V6 Performance Rebuild

I am getting ready to rebuild my 225 and want to pump up the performance. Any suggestions on parts or where to get them, such as
4 bbl intake and carb, what cfm? Cam size? This is my first project and can use all the help I can get. My local auto parts store
has no clue about this engine.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-14-1999, 10:58 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Default Re: 225 V6 Performance Rebuild

Kanter has rebuild kits for this motor, Summit has performance parts.
http://www.kanter.com/
http://www.summitracing.com/index.htm

Also you can upgrade to electronic ignition.
http://www.off-road.com/4x4web/jeepster/fixtip2.htm.

good luck, let me know how it goes. I have a 225 in a '42 GPW but haven't touched it yet.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 10-14-1999, 05:31 PM
Keyboard Implanted

dave is an unknown quantity at this point

I have done some parts research for the 225. Here is what I've figured out. The ODD fire 231 performance camshaft IS NOT interchangeable with a 225. The 225 will need a custom ground performance camshaft. Check with http://www.deltacam.com for some information on custom ground cams, there not that expensive, and the performance options are great!
I've driven a 225 that has a Offenhauser Intake Manifold (Dual Port) part # 6035-DP and a Holley 390 CFM 4 barrel carburetor, combined with a HEI distributor the combination is very impressive.