Header exhaust leak.... tips? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Go Back   Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups > Jeep > Jeep-Short Wheelbase

Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2000, 01:41 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Default Header exhaust leak.... tips?

Put on a set of fenderwell headers and can't seem to get them to seal up. I've never used headers before, so I may be doing something basic wrong. I just bought a set of stock exhaust gaskets and some special header bolts and wrenched them down like the manifolds. Used the same torque specs and sequence. Anything I can do? I really hate the sound of the leak and would like to get this right. Can I double up the gaskets or use something else? Thanks for the tips
Brian

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-27-2000, 02:05 PM
Pooh-Bah

GP'n is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Header exhaust leak.... tips?

You should be using a metel filled Header gasket, not the stock exhaust manifold gasket. Then use the torque sequence for the headers. The double gasket will work for awhile but when it blows out you will have some very loose headers.
Check the face of the flnge that bolts to the head, it should be flat. also you should retorque the header bolts with the headers warm.
GP'n

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 11-27-2000, 02:59 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Use header gaskets with high temp RTV on both sides. Torque the headers the best you can. Run the engine for about 5 min with no load. Torque again. Run the engine for 10 min. Torque again. Drive the jeep around the block. Torque again. Keep doing the retorque until the bolts quit tightening. It takes a while, but they eventually get there.