Is the 304 in a CJ and a scout II compatible? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Go Back   Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups > Jeep > Jeep-Short Wheelbase

Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2007, 02:05 AM
duck

Default Is the 304 in a CJ and a scout II compatible?

Is a 304 out of a '78 int. scout the same as the 304 in a '79 CJ-7? What, if any differences exist between the two?

I am asking because I just purchased the CJ which has a bad 304 in it. The current engine would probably need bored out, so it's not worth the expense to rebuild.

The donor 304 would come out of a '78 scout II with 98k miles on it. I also have access to a 360 which was running when parked(w/89k miles), but would surely need gaskets replaced. Or a freshly rebuilt 258, but I'd assume it would require other work considering its a totally different engine than I have now.

I am somewhat new to jeeps, so any advice would be appreciated.

Its got a auto tranny, holley carbs and quad-trac if that matters(sorry no engine pic)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1555436-jeep002.jpg (233.4 KB, 16 views)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-31-2007, 03:47 AM
Veteran

bandhmo2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is the 304 in a CJ and a scout II compatible?

IN short NO!! The AMC/Jeep and International 304's are completely different internally and externally. A International 304 would be a very expansive and poor choice for an engine. For your information International used a 232 and 258 that where basically AMC 232 and 258's but used different blocks with different external bolt patterns. This has lead many to assume that the International and AMC 304 is the same internally IT IS NOT.