Off Roading Forums banner

Dana 30 rebuild

9K views 11 replies 4 participants last post by  Warthog 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

so i'm finally puttin that chrysler 8.25 into the rear of the YJ. At the same time I will be changing the gears up front.

Decided i'm going to do the bearings and seals on the 30 while i have it apart. it's my first time doing a rebuild on an axle, so anything i should keep in mind when doing a dana 30.

i've hear timken are the best rebuild kits. where's a good place to by them.

any special tools i need to have?

thanks in advance for the help

#2 ·
Get a kit that comes with the stupid little goodies like gear marking compound if you haven't done this before (don't already have some around). Buy every shim kit you can, cheap and they will come in handy sooner or later.

Look around at the big sellers on line:

http://www.drivetrain.com/

Randy's Ring & Pinion - Installation Kits

Don't forget to check www.4wd.com , they are competitive in my opinion.

Actually.... go through some of my links cause I don't remember what all is there:

Dale's Jeep Junk - Drivetrain Links

Don't forget to replace all of the little junk in the spindles.

Bring this back to the top before you get started... I'll do a search for some posts that will help.

/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/40BEER.gif
Dale

#3 ·
is there anywhere i can find an instruction set that would have torque and shim specs and such for doing this job? if i'm not changing the carrier do i have to do the shims? the carrier for 3.07s and 3.55 is the same carrier, or am i mistaken?

#5 ·
i have a hard time believing no one has rebuilt a dana 30 before. or is everyone who has at the bash this weekend?

#6 ·
3.07 and 3.55 share the same carrier. Can't help you with the torque/shim question, but you could ask a local mechanic.