stock carb swap to holley - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Go Back   Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups > Jeep > Jeep-Short Wheelbase

Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2004, 11:04 AM
alternix

Default stock carb swap to holley

Ive got a stock carb on my jeep (88 wrangler 258)
in fact everything is stock. I'm a rookie at this.

I hear the stock carbs are crap - and I should replace it with a Holley carb. This will make the Jeep run like new [img]images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] or at least better than it does now.....

Any recommendations?

Is there anything I need to do besides unscrew the old one and bolt in the new one? Is this even the right way to go?
Which model should I get?

a Double Pump?
how many CFM?

Are there any other things I also need to get?

I love bumps and dirt trails, but i dont do any serious off-roading so im not worried about pitching the jeep up over 50 degrees too often....

Any help would be appreciated!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-07-2004, 11:20 AM
Keyboard Implanted

lomodyj is on a distinguished road
Default Re: stock carb swap to holley

Save your money...the holley is good but for the $$$ the MC2100 is better. Do a search on 2100 or MC2100 on here. There will be lots and lots of info.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 09-07-2004, 11:36 AM
Pooh-Bah

GP'n is an unknown quantity at this point

Look for a good 1.08 MotorCraft 2100 carb these carbs are probably the best reliable carb ever built, Not to mention the easiest to work on.
They came on Fords, American Motors, cars, trucks and Jeeps from the early 70's till mid 80's.

You will have to do a little work to get them to fit, adapters and linkage, but after that they run very well.