Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2003, 10:28 AM
LAFEET

Default 4.2 MPFI conversion help

4.2 MPFI conversion help
hey there

i'm doing a conversion on a 87 yj using 94yj mpfi parts, i
got it all wired up, and i know the mechanical timing is right.

but it will not run , it tries but all it does is pops and sputters, it does not matter how i turn the dist, (i broke the tab thats how i can turn it). i changed the coil, tps, iac, i had extras there not new. it has new rotor, cap, wires, plugs, still the same.

i pulled off the fuel rail to watch the injectors fire, they seem to work fine, BUT shouldnt they shoot just one time per rev.????? there shooting 2 - 3 - 4 times per rev., and i dont thinks thats right.

i'm new to the fuel injection world, and i dont have a way to check for fault codes, i dont know what to do.
can you give me any ideas!!!
thx
jerry
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-25-2003, 03:15 PM
Can't Get Enough

jeeperjohn is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 4.2 MPFI conversion help

Not sure about any codes. I am in the process of collecting parts for fuel injection using the 258 head with a high output 4.0 intake and throttlebody with a MegaSquirt controller. So I have no experience with the Jeep FI system. This came to mind (you did not mention any work being done to the intake).
If you are using parts off a 94 (not the MPI kit) and a 258 head, did you redrill the intake for the dowel pins on the head that locate the intake? If not it should have a massive vacuum leak. If you are not using a 258 head are you using a High output 4.0 head or a standard 4.0 head. Yes, they are different.
The upper hole is the one that has to be drilled. Aparently, the lower part of the intake flange will have to be trimmed also

Also see http://monsterslayer.com/jeep/40Head/40Head.htm