How does running out of gas effect an engine? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Go Back   Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups > Jeep > Jeep-Short Wheelbase

Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2002, 10:58 PM
Carpal \'Tunnel

knifeboy2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default How does running out of gas effect an engine?

Alright, so I'm a poor college student and I don't know how long I'll be able to pay for gas in my Jeep. My question is, does running out of gas do any damage to the engine? I'm guessing it doesn't, but I really don't know. Thanks for the help.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-21-2002, 11:17 PM
Old Hand

Skellator is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How does running out of gas effect an engine?

I've ran many a vehicle out of gas and have had no ill effects. I've ran out in my Jeep 3 or 4 times now (dang sending unit) and it still runs after you gas her up. [img]images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] It's just an minor inconvenience [img]images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] Unless it's raining then it's a PITA [img]images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 10-21-2002, 11:24 PM
Enthusiast

Iron_Weasel is an unknown quantity at this point

Yeah, it doesn't do any damage to the engine.

The only thing that you may have to worry about is that if there's any rust or other junk floating around in the tank it may have been picked up and could clog something up the line like the fuel pump or filter.
This isn't very likely to happen, so there aren't any real worries.
Old 10-22-2002, 12:46 AM
Pooh-Bah

cj5_pilot is an unknown quantity at this point