Jeep Saftey and Children - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep Lounge Still Jeepers, but not vehicle-specific. Good place to share your general mechanical tips, OT stuff.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-14-2010, 01:46 PM Thread Starter

Jeep Saftey and Children

Hi guys, new to the forum. Figured I'd start my first post with somthing close to my heart.

With spring coming, it's just about time to take the top off the Wrangler. Every year however, I got through the same concern in my head. How safe is this for my now 5year old daughter who is riding in the back seat?

I've been driving my daughter round with me for the past 5 years with no issues. I've seen her go from a baby seat to now a modified booster (so I can go on bumpy trails!). One thing she always looks forward to is spring and summer when the top gets taken off!

I've often asked myself how safe is this? The rational I've come to... is that if some idiot plows into me, it's not going to matter whether I was driving my jeep, or my wife's Honda. Either way something terrible is going to happen.

I know it's not the best rational, many call me a fool. I don't think i should live in fear, but am I crazy?

What say you guys? Any similar experiences?

Thanks,

Rodd
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-09-2010, 11:55 PM
Enthusiast

If you roll, the hardtop is going to crack like an egg and be of no value, just something to hit you on the head as it disincarnates. Other than making sure there are no items in the jeep that can fly around and kill you during an event it is all up to proper belting and driver care and experience. Try to teach your daughter to not stick her hands outside of the jeep and in the event of a crash tell her to not grab the roll bar; find another place for her to hold on and teach her to use it. Roll bars that have hands wrapped around them in a roll often smash the hand between the bar and the ground/rock.