what is a good book to build 4x4 - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Ford Ranger, Bronco II, Explorer Discussion of all Ford mini and mid-sized 4x4 vehicles to include the Ranger pickup, Bronco II and Explorer SUV's.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-20-2009, 02:28 PM Thread Starter
Stranger

Question what is a good book to build 4x4

Ok, Here it goes. I have never built a 4x4 before. I have a 1988 ford Ranger 2 wd that has been with me forever. I want to make a good 4 wheeler out of it so me and the wife can have some fun. I would like to put some straight axles under it and some good horse power under the hood. I'm thinking about a 4.6L and a good auto trans. ( wife cant drive a stick and will not learn). I'm not interested in rock crawling. but just about anything else goes. So what I need is a list of good books and web sites that will point me in the right direction. I have a good shop and good skills to do most if not all the work. I just don't know where to start. I have built many cars and 2 wd trucks. If anyone is in South Carolina or close we could get together and hash out some ideals. Well thanks in advance for all the help. By the way I did read some of the post about converting a 2 wd truck. But I figured since I want straight axles I might as well start with what I have and build the best that I can. I have a fair amount of cash to put into this and Time is not a problem since I've had the truck forever and don't plan on ever getting rid of it. again Thanks for the help. Jeff
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-20-2009, 11:32 PM
Stranger

It's not easy to do a conversion on a truck. I wouldnt even try it with these newer, fuel injected, 15,000 miles of electric wire trucks. The simplest, most cost-effective thing (and with less headaches) is to just buy another truck that is already 4x4. That said...