I needs me a sand rail - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Go Back   Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups > Racing and Competition > Desert Racing

Desert Racing For the discussion of all things, Desert Racing in Baja, the American Southwest, Australia and Africa.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2001, 12:56 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Default I needs me a sand rail

Well I've decided I wanna build myself a sand rail. I never ridden in one but I want one, plus, I have nothing better to do. First off, whats a good place that makes frames? I'd like to build my own but I don't trust myself welding and I'm kinda busy. Second, what the hell do you use as a rear end (they're independent right?)? I was thinking maybe a ford 9''. Also what type of engine should I use? I have either the choice of a chevy 454 or a Olds 455 (have both sitting in the garage. If there is anything I'm not thinking of please tell me I'm a stupid engineering student.

Thanks
Ryan

The only Good Hippie is a Dead Hippie!
"Peace through Vandalism"
Ryan
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-13-2001, 01:56 AM
Just Plain Need A Life

w3tadmin has a brilliant future at ORCw3tadmin has a brilliant future at ORCw3tadmin has a brilliant future at ORCw3tadmin has a brilliant future at ORCw3tadmin has a brilliant future at ORCw3tadmin has a brilliant future at ORCw3tadmin has a brilliant future at ORCw3tadmin has a brilliant future at ORCw3tadmin has a brilliant future at ORCw3tadmin has a brilliant future at ORCw3tadmin has a brilliant future at ORC
Default Re: I needs me a sand rail

Hmmm..

You're starting from scratch. I suggest that you visit the dunes in your area and snap pictues of the various "rail type" vehlles for ideas. This will get you started on building what works best for your area.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!