2-Stroke vs. 4-Stroke - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Go Back   Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups > ATVs, Quads and Four-Wheelers > ATV Lounge

ATV Lounge Everything ATV - NOT defined in a specific forum below. Hang out with your friends.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2000, 11:14 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Default 2-Stroke vs. 4-Stroke

I was just wondering why everybody says that a 2-stroke requires more maintenance than a 4-stroke. I admit i'm new to this whole 2-stroke 4-stroke thing but a friend of mine has had his polaris 2-stroke for over 5 years and hasn't done anything but add oil when it was needed and change the air filter once or twice a year. With the 4-stroke you have to change the oil and filter at least twice a year so I don't see a big difference in the two. Please excuse my ignorance but like I said, i'm new to this. Thanks for any replies.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-20-2000, 06:20 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Default Re: 2-Stroke vs. 4-Stroke

I really appreciate every one's comments. This site is a great help. It seems that if you don't own or mention a banshee, you get no reply.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 05-20-2000, 10:12 PM
cleartoy

I think its open to interpretation. 2 strokes need to be rebuilt more often than 4 strokes. That is theoretical, and is subject to being used under similar conditions.

Jetting is way more important on 2 strokes. They do not have as much leeway as 4 strokes. Its important to keep the air filter clean, as a cloged one, can richen the mix.

One could say that more 4 strokes require MORE preventative maintainence, in that they have engine oil, and an oil filter to be changed, valves to clearance, and timing chains, to keep the slack out.

Most 2 strokes have radiators, water pumps and hoses that wear out. Most 4 strokes do not.