Off Roading Forums banner

Stroked 351 W or 460 BIG Block???

2K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  Shovel 
#1 ·
Hey guys,
I was doing some thinking this weekend, and eventually I will need a new engine.
I'm gonna go up alittle higher and put 44" boggers on her.
So, I'm not sure how much MORE my 302 can take. I was thinking either a professionally (carb) built 351 W stroked or a 460.
I'm thinking maybe the 351 would be cheaper and easier....i could use my Edelbrock heads, same motor mounts, and same trans.
What would be a good stroker size for a 351W? I see all different sizes 392,392,408,418, and 420.
Or do you think I should go with the 460 for reliability issues?

Let me know what you think guys.

Thanks,
Jerry D.

G
#3 ·
I am no expert on engine building but I know that there are a ton of aftermarket parts for the 351 and I am sure you could build a sweet one. However if it were me I would opt for the 460. Cubic inches are everything. I bet you could spend less on the swap than on a 351 bored and tweaked the way you want it. I also think the swap is fairly straight forward. The 3/4 and 1 ton trucks used the same E4OD tranny so it should be a direct bolt in. Maybe a new bellhousing. I don't really know though. Someone should be around shortly to help you out and correct me if I am wrong.

#4 ·
If you are power happy why not beef up the 302? Stroke it to a 347 and blow it? 500 horses and 500 ft.lbs. of torque. Save gas unless you think it's' gettin cheaper, save weight, and have more power than a 460.
Gearing is the best deal. I've seen little Zuk's with 64 horses, 33's, lincoln lockers, and gearing do some extreme schtuff. A 302 in a bronc with the proper gearing and suspension would be fine. This said, I got 400 horses, a blower on my 302. I did this because I tow about a 4,000 pound boat and like the punch when I'm playing around. It has not helped my wheeling as much as gearing and lockers. You got the axels to handle 44's? Breakage is a bi&5$!